Q: Which countries belong to the European Economic Area?

A: The European Economic Area comprises, in addition to the member states of the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

On 1 January 2021, the United Kingdom (UK) withdrew from the EU. Read more about what effects Brexit will have on the Finnish Trade Register.

Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

As regards other areas, such as Ceuta and Melilla, governed by member states of the European Union, each case must be studied individually.

Residents of the following states may need a permission granted by the Finnish Patent and Registration Office to act in business management or other tasks with responsibility: Russia, Switzerland, Turkey, Andorra, San Marino, Monaco and the Vatican State.

Printable version
Latest update 15.01.2021