EU trademarks

The EU trademark system covering the European Union (EU) enables you to get protection in all EU countries by making just one application.

The EU trademark has a unitary character: the mark can be registered only in the EU as a whole, and the registration has equal legal effect throughout the EU.

EU trademarks are registered by the European Union Intellectual Property Office, EUIPO, in Alicante, Spain.

The following natural or legal persons, including authorities established under public law, can be proprietors of EU trademarks:

  • nationals of EU member countries;
  • nationals of other countries, provided that the country in question is party to the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property, or to the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization;
  • nationals of countries which are not parties to the Paris Convention, but who are domiciled or have their seat or who have real and effective industrial or commercial establishments within the European Community or in a country which is party to the Paris Convention; or
  • nationals, other than those referred to under the paragraph above, who are domiciled in a country which is not party to the Paris Convention or the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, but which, in respect of trademarks, apply the principle of reciprocity.


You will find details of registered EU trademarks in the eSearch plus service at the EUIPO website. The service is free of charge. Go to the search page.

Fees for EU trademarks

EUIPO website

Printable version
Latest update 12.08.2016